Caltrain Welcomes New Directors, Elects Officers for 2018

The Peninsula Corridor Joint Powers Board (JPB) welcomed new member Charles Stone and elected its officers for 2018 at the rail agency’s January meeting.

Stone, who also serves on the Belmont City Council, will represent the SamTrans Board of Directors on the JPB.

Along with swearing in of Stone, the JPB elected its officers for this year. Member Jeannie Bruins, who represents the Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority (VTA), was elected chair. Member Gillian Gillett, who represents the City and County of San Francisco Board of Supervisors, was elected vice-chair.

The JPB is the governing body of Caltrain, the commuter rail service that operates in San Francisco, San Mateo and Santa Clara counties. Caltrain is managed by the San Mateo County Transit District, in partnership with the City and County of San Francisco and VTA. The nine-member board of directors is composed of three members from each of the three partner agencies.

For additional information about board members, visit  


About Caltrain: Owned and operated by the Peninsula Corridor Joint Powers Board, Caltrain provides commuter rail service from San Francisco to San Jose, with limited commute service to Gilroy. Caltrain enjoyed five years of consecutive monthly ridership increases, surpassing more than 65,000 average weekday riders earlier this year. While the Joint Powers Board assumed operating responsibilities for the service in 1992, the railroad celebrated 150 years of continuous passenger service in 2014. Planning for the next 150 years of Peninsula rail service, Caltrain is on pace to electrify the system, reduce diesel emissions by 97 percent by 2040 and add more service to more stations.

Like us on Facebook at and follow on Twitter @Caltrain.

Free translation assistance is available.

Para traducción llama al 1.800.660.4287; 如需翻譯,請電 1.800.660.4287.


Caltrain News Logo