Caltrain Board Gains New Members, Chair and Vice Chair

With the new year comes new appointments to the Peninsula Corridor Joint Powers Board (JPB) of Directors. Yesterday’s board meeting saw the swearing in of new members San Bruno Mayor Rico E. Medina and Palo Alto Councilmember Pat Burt, while Supervisor Ray Mueller was sworn in at the January meeting. 

Mueller represents the San Mateo County Board of Supervisors on the rail agency’s board, while Medina represents the San Mateo County Transit District. Burt is the Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority (VTA) Chair and representative on the Caltrain Board. 

The Caltrain Board is chaired by Redwood City Mayor Jeff Gee, while San Jose Councilmember Dev Davis serves as Vice Chair. 

The JPB is the governing body of Caltrain, the commuter rail service that operates in San Francisco, San Mateo and Santa Clara counties. The nine-member board of directors is composed of three members from each of the three partner agencies. 

For additional information about board members, visit    


About Caltrain: Owned and operated by the Peninsula Corridor Joint Powers Board, Caltrain provides rail service from San Francisco to San Jose, with commute service to Gilroy. Serving the region since 1863, Caltrain is the oldest continually operating rail system west of the Mississippi. Looking to the future, Caltrain is set to electrify the corridor by 2024, which will reduce diesel emissions and add more service to more stations while advancing the agency’s equity goals. 

Follow Caltrain on Facebook and Twitter

Free translation assistance is available. Para traducción llama al 1.800.660.4287; 如需翻譯,請電 1.800.660.4287. 

Media Contact: Dan Lieberman, 650.622.2492